Thinking About Africa

23 Jun

It’s hard to believe next Sunday I will be in Kenya. I feel excited, nervous, and a little astonished that I am going on this incredible adventure. My heart is full. I hope to come back to Saskatoon a better person with a renewed sense of purpose.

Part of the reason I started this blog was to share the work of other creatives that inspire me. Below are some beautiful, handmade objects from Africa. The boucherouite rugs and toy animals are made from recycled materials. The textiles are made according to traditional African techniques. I love the colours, creativity and ingenuity that go into the creation of these home décor items and toys!

Africa Excitement -2North African Boucherouite Rugs.

Africa Excitement -5Ocean Sole flip-flop recycling.

Africa Excitement -3Maasai Necklace. Mudcloth Fabric. Kenya Print. Kilim Throw.

Africa Excitement -1Le Souk textiles found on decor8 and Design*Sponge.

When I return there will be a canvas waiting to capture of glimmer of what I experienced with Free The Children and Me to We. It will be a difficult artistic project, but I’m up for the challenge.

xo

Leave a Reply

