Favourite Felt Wreath

25 Nov

In 2010 I found a tutorial for an amazing felt holiday wreath on design*sponge. I loved the simple, organic elegance of this wreath. I just had to make it!

My wreath was beautiful; it looked exactly like Kristen’s wreath (which is always satisfying when following an online tutorial). I was so pleased with this DIY project. Unfortunately this wreath was very fragile and I knew it wouldn’t travel well when I moved to Saskatoon. I gave my felt rosette wreath to my dear friend Jocelyn. I hope she enjoys it this holiday season!

Now I am settled into my new apartment, Henry, I decided to make a new wreath in fabulous, holiday red.

I love it!

I wanted this festive, felt decoration to be durable. Instead of using push pins to attach the felt rosettes to the styrofoam form, as suggested in the original tutorial, I sewed them onto a handmade wreath form made out of felt and cardboard. It was incredibly time consuming. This wreath took me twelve hours to complete! But I do love it and know I will appreciate it for years to come. It is so lovely and classic!

Visit Domestifluff.com for the full Ruffly Felt Rosette Wreath tutorial!

Happy Holidays!

6 Responses to “Favourite Felt Wreath”

  1. Christina November 25, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    I made that wreath a couple of years ago in a crimson red and it never fails to make me happy. Yay for successful projects!

  2. xxiamkristinxx November 25, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    This wreath is so bright and pretty! I love it, I think I might try something like this.

    ps….I knew right away you were Canadian by the spelling of favourite. I’m a fellow Canadian now living in the U.S and it took me forever to spell favorite and color without the U..lol

    • thebbcreative November 25, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

      Thanks for reading Kristin!
      ps – I think you should continue to spell words the Canadian way! :)

  3. Courtney November 25, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Lovely! I really need to make that wreath one day — both of yours are beautiful!

  4. Whitney December 3, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Looks great BB!

Leave a Reply

