Happy Mother’s Day Sharon

13 May

It is Mother’s Day. The sun is shining, the grass is growing, and the trees are budding. It is a beautiful day.

I called my mom this morning to wish her a Happy Mother’s Day. Unfortunately that call and this (late!) blog post is all my mom will receive from me for Mother’s Day this year.

When there are momentous milestones in my life my mom creates gorgeous, handmade cards for me. My dad says these cards take her hours to craft. And I am not organized enough to purchase and send her a card in the mail before May 13. Shame on me!

To make up for my lack of Mother’s Day thoughtfulness I’m going to share with you how awesome my mom is.

My mom is extremely hard working, kind, generous, supportive, and creative. She is an amazing role model. Growing up she planted a DIY spirit in me. My family was living on the 100 Mile Diet before the foodies made it trendy. My mom was making my brother and I clothes before sewing was fashionable and kitschy (in a good way). Springtime was for planting, autumn was for harvest, and the seasons in-between were for sewing, crafting, cooking, constructing, and baking. I thought everyone grew up planting gardens, canning beans, and making piñatas for their birthdays. Now I know not everyone was so lucky.

We didn’t have a lot of money growing up and I am thankful for that. Growing up we did-it-ourselves because it was cheaper. Now DIY is an anti-consumerist movement people are embracing with open arms. We are realizing how important it is to support local farmers, artisans, buy organic, and/or do-it-ourselves. I am thankful my mom taught me to support our local community and to do-it-myself. These are very important life lessons I cherish! Thank you Mom!

Now that my brother and I are (trying to be) adults my mom has indulged in a fancy camera and has been taking some photography classes. Here are some of my favourite photos she has taken the past two years.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY MOM! You are a talented, smart, and lovely lady.

I learned on the Etsy Blog this week Mother’s Day originated with activist Julia Ward Howe in 1870. Julia wrote the Mother’s Day Proclamation calling women to come together and rally for peace. If my mom was alive in the 1870s I would like to think she would have joined this important movement.

To all the amazing women out there – Happy Mother’s Day. You are loved and appreciated.

3 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day Sharon”

  1. Mom May 13, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Thanks Brianna
    What a wonderful Mother’s Day Gift.
    Lots of Love
    Mom

    • Carol May 13, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      I agree – Happy Mother’s Day to Sharon…and Brianna, that’s a wonderful gift. hugs to you both!

  2. craftyveggirl May 13, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Wow! Your mom is actually pretty good! I love the dandelion pictures. I have tried and tried to take pictures of those darn things cuz I love em so much but I’m not there yet. Your mom sounds pretty cool! :)

Leave a Reply

