Opinion – Blik Wall Decals

11 Mar

I recently moved from Vancouver to Saskatchewan. During this move I bought a new computer desk. I love my new desk but it currently looks like a ominous hole in the middle of my living room. To fix this very serious aesthetic issue I am going to purchase some wall decals to bring some life to my large, dark desk.

I’ve always wanted to purchase Blik wall decals for my previous Vancouver apartments. I’ve admired Blik for many years and love their original designs and artistic collaborations. I am very excited to finally splurge on wall graphics for the commitment-phobic.

I am having some troubles choosing a graphic for my desk. I am planning on putting the graphic on the inside side and back panels. Below are my top five choices. What is your opinion? Which one should I choose?!

Fishwall – Pattern Wall Tiles based on a Threadless pattern by Matias Damian Horn.

Ten – Pattern Wall Tiles based on a Threadless pattern by Dan Sheffield (in grey).

Flock by Blik (in charcoal and mint or silver).

Iron Vines by Blik (in graphite).

Lacy Sunday by Jan Habraken (in white, lilac, and deep sea or lilac, raspberry, and purple rain).

The wall tiles would completely cover the inside side and back panels of my desk. Iron Vines, Flock, and Lacy Sunday would let some of the original colour and wood grain come through the graphic cutouts. I’d really love it if you would share your opinion with me! I don’t have any artwork (other than photographs on the fireplace mantel) in my living room. My new apartment is still a blank slate and I am intimidated!

Thanks! Can’t wait to hear from you.

6 Responses to “Opinion – Blik Wall Decals”

  1. Amanda March 12, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I’m definitely a fan of the first one! So colourful and creative!

  2. Courtney March 12, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    I like ‘Ten’ because it would fill the desk space. The other patterns are great, too, but I think they’d look better on a wall or larger space, since they are spread out a bit more. Looking forward to seeing the result!

  3. Whitney March 12, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    I like “Ten.” Fishwall is a close second, but I think Ten is more you. I could see you getting tired to Fishwall after a while!

  4. thebbcreative March 12, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Thanks for the comments ladies! It looks like it’s a tie between “Ten” and “Flock”… I guess I may need to be the tiebreaker.

  5. Mom March 12, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I also like the Ten. The Iron Vines or Flock would be a nice addition to your walls.
    Good Luck in your decision.

  6. Sarah June 10, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    The first. The large scale ones wouldn’t have the same effect in your space, I don’t think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,112 other followers

