Raggedy Ann (without the Raggedy) + the Black Swan

30 Oct

My friend Whitney and I decided to dress up for Halloween this year. This is the first time in a very long time that we both put effort into making Halloween costumes. Once we both came up with creative DIY ideas we were quite excited to make our costumes and do our makeup. Getting ready is half the fun!

I dressed up as a doll – a classy doll with a purple yarn wig and pearl necklaces. There was definitely nothing raggedy about my doll costume.

I followed A Beautiful Mess’ DIY rag doll costume tutorial.

The cutesy doll makeup and yarn wig are definitely the key elements that make this costume convincing (as convincing as a 5’6” walking, talking doll can be). The wig tutorial from A Beautiful Mess is great, the instructions are super simple and easy to follow. I am pleasantly surprised with how well everything turned out!

Whitney and I may have gone a little overboard with our Halloween photoshoot. We had so much fun!

Whitney made a very impressive Black Swan. Her makeup looked ah-mazing. There are lots of Black Swan makeup tutorials in the blogosphere this year. Whitney followed this video tutorial by Michelle Phan (found via Love & Lace). Stephanie from Love & Lace also made an awesome Black Swan costume that is definitely worth checking out.

I think we look fantastic. DIY Halloween costume success!

Happy Halloween!

ps – what are you dressing up as for Halloween this year?

3 Responses to “Raggedy Ann (without the Raggedy) + the Black Swan”

  1. Whitney October 30, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Love it!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Most Memorable Moments from 2011 « - January 7, 2012

    […]  Halloween Costumes: I haven’t dressed up for Halloween in years. This year I dressed up as a doll with purple hair. […]

  2. Peacock Inspired Halloween « - October 29, 2012

    […] anticipate Halloween the way I used to as a child  – but I still enjoy the opportunity to dress up, eat chocolate, and celebrate with friends.  I was very lucky to be invited to a great house party […]

Leave a Reply

