Crafternoon: Kate’s Painterly Silhouettes

23 Oct

The Crafty Ladies have been long overdue for an afternoon of crafting. This weekend we got together to make a DIY project from Design*Sponge. We followed the online tutorial for Kate’s Painterly Silhouettes.

Step one: collect supplies, treats, and inspiration. To get the creative vibes flowing I made some apple cider in my slow cooker. To make hot apple cider put the following ingredients in your slow cooker on high for a couple of hours: apple juice, cinnamon, allspice, cloves, sliced oranges and sliced lemons. Feel free to spike your cider with Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum. Yum!

In addition to apple cider, rum, cookies, and grapes you will need:
1. acrylic paint
2. contact paper (we found this at the Home Depot)
3. exacto knife/blade
4. permanent marker
5. paintbrushes
6. illustration board (we found this at Opus)
7. images (our images included a tree, deer, pony, owls, love birds, and crown)
8. newspaper or scrap paper for painting on
9. cutting board (or cardboard)

Step two: follow the Design*Sponge tutorial. The instructions are super simple and easy to follow.

Step three: Admire your beautiful artwork! I love the variety in the prints the crafty ladies made. Even though we all followed the same tutorial everyone’s artwork is completely original (unfortunately I didn’t a photo of the royal crown print).

It took us about three hours to finish this stencil art project. I think everyone is relatively happy with how their artwork turned out. I think all the prints look great!

I really enjoyed this craft. I never worked with contact paper before, but now know it is an ingenious craft supply that I will definitely be using for future craft projects.

Do you like my purple deer? I’m pretty happy with him. It would be fun to do a whole series of purple deer (or purple prairie animal) artworks.

All in all – a successful crafternoon with some of my favourite ladies.

4 Responses to “Crafternoon: Kate’s Painterly Silhouettes”

  1. Renee Leduc October 26, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Wow these turned out AWESOME! what a great idea. I especially love the Love Birds one! so cute! :)

    • thebbcreative October 26, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks Renee. Carlie will be soo pleased you like her birds print!

  2. Weekend Project Girl October 28, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    I love this post! Very fun! Stencils are great and come in handy for so many projects. By the way I love your pic with all of the art supplies!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas DIY Ornaments and Décor « - December 4, 2011

    […] been looking for some simple and modern ornament and décor ideas for the next Crafty Ladies event. Here is a roundup of some of my favourites found on the blogosphere. I absolutely love the […]

Leave a Reply

