Collage Collage & the National Gallery of Saskatchewan

28 Aug

Saturday afternoon I wandered down to Collage Collage and talked to painter Sarah Holtom for almost two hours. Sarah and I have never met before, but we had an awesome visit. She showed me around the studio, told me about the exciting art classes and shows that are taking place this fall, and talked nostalgia about Saskatchewan. Being a prairie girl myself, we had much to talk about!

Collage Collage – Shop, Look + Learn from Pike on Vimeo.

Collage Collage is a space in Vancouver that inspires creativity in kids and adults, with art workshops, supplies, books, magazines, objects, and more. Collage Collage is a creative place with a simple vision:

SHOP… find art supplies, a storybook, a small sculpture or a new pair of scissors.
LOOK… arts are an essential part of children’s lives, see what we have in store for everyone.
LEARN… find inspiration and investigate contemporary works through workshops and classes.

Shout out to Sad Mag! Woot Woot!

Collage Collage is an amazing space, but I want to take a moment to share more about Sarah and my love for Saskatchewan. Sarah earned her Degree in Drawing at the Alberta College of Art and Design in Calgary. After finishing her degree she worked on some pretty cool projects, including 100 Portraits of Calgary Artists and the National Gallery of Saskatchewan located in Canora, Saskatchewan.

Sarah ran the National Gallery of Saskatchewan for two years. While running the gallery she began a painting television program, with funding from the Saskatchewan Arts Board, called The Painting From Life with Sarah Holtom Show, which aired on Access Television.  Each episode documents from start to finish an oil landscape or portrait completed within an hour.

I really enjoy Sarah’s Saskatchewan landscapes from The Painting From Life with Sarah Holtom Show. I love the movement and light she was able to capture in the sky and fields. Saskatchewan is a stunning province and these paintings showcase the vibrant energy and colours of the prairies.

During our visit Sarah and I reminisced about the beautiful sunshine, changing skies, awesome summer storms, gigantic winter snow drifts, and unique community spirit that exists in Saskatchewan. People come together and support each other in ways I have not yet experienced in British Columbia. The support Sarah received while working in Canora from Access Television, the Organization of Saskatchewan Arts Councils, and the Saskatchewan Arts Board is pretty incredible.

Talking to Sarah definitely made me a bit homesick, but also very proud of my small town prairie roots. It was a very lovely and inspiring visit. Thanks for sharing part of your story with me Sarah! I’ll see you around at Collage Collage.

9 Responses to “Collage Collage & the National Gallery of Saskatchewan”

  1. Renee Leduc August 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    Is that portrait in the middle a portrait she painted of you?? that is so cool!

    • thebbcreative August 28, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      No, it is not me. It is some Calgary artist that looks a bit like me! I didn’t noticed the resemblance until you pointed it out.

  2. christid August 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Saskatchewan – Land of opportunity and golden sunsets.

    • thebbcreative August 28, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      Thanks for reading Christi! And yes – I completely agree. :)

  3. karen August 31, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Collage collage is a terrific arts school. I sent my kids there several times this year, the 4 yr boychild old thrives in the drop-in art classes, my 6 and 8 year old girls at spring break, and all three this summer came home having accomplished things I didn’t imagine they could do at their ages (my four year old boy sews!) — and I’m a pretty hands off, do it yourselves kind of a mom! Sarah and Erin both bring amazing and energy into the store and exert influence galore on their smaller students.

  4. niki August 31, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    If I live in Vancouver, my kids would be in her classes. Sarah is truly a Great Canadian Artist.

  5. Gabriela June 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    Is there a website for the National Gallery of Saskatchewan, Canada? thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Got Craft, Spool of Thread + DIY Felt Bow « - December 11, 2011

    […] (at 15th + Fraser Street) in Vancouver and is just right around the corner from the very lovely Collage Collage. Spool of Thread provides beginner and experienced sewers with the space, tools, materials and […]

Leave a Reply

