Pinterest is Awesome

20 Aug

I’m really excited about Pinterest. Pinterest is a virtual pinboard and I looove pinboards. Pinboards are an easy, low-risk place to brainstorm creative projects and collect and store inspiration. Although Pinterest will never completely replace my real life bulletin board, it is responsible for clearing some of the clutter in my apartment, namely the piles of stationary, calendars, and magazines I hoard for future inspiration and projects.

Pinterest’s mission is to:
Connect everyone in the world through the ‘things’ they find interesting. We think that a favorite book, toy, or recipe can reveal a common link between two people. With millions of new pins added every week, Pinterest is connecting people all over the world based on shared tastes and interests.

In addition to being a cool, new social networking site Pinterest also functions as a visual bookmarking tool that allows you to save images that you find on the web. I am always bookmarking websites, saving jpegs, and emailing myself the URLs from blogs to file for future DIY projects, crafternoons, design inspiration, and art projects. Pinterest has replaced this haphazard method of saving interesting websites, tutorials, and images I find on the internet. Also, as a visual person I really enjoy being able to see, at a glance, the cool stuff I’ve collected from the web.

My Pinterest page.

Pinterest is totally addicting and is a source of endless inspiration (and procrastination). I am always pinning images from my favourite blogs. This website would have been perfect for sharing ideas with Vanessa for her wedding. This online scrapbook is definitely an event planner’s dream!

Pinterest can help your organize and collect images of anything. My latest obsession is finding cool images of the letter B.

To summarize: Pinerest is awesome and you should be on it. And you should start following me!

Here are some great articles on the benefits of Pinerest if you need more convincing:

I also suggest you check out the Pinterest blog.

3 Responses to “Pinterest is Awesome”

  1. Hanna Metsis (@HMetsis) August 21, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    It seems like a great tool. Too bad it’s by invitation only.

    • thebbcreative August 21, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      Thanks for the comment Hanna! I can send you an invite. I’ll send you a direct message over twitter.

      • thebbcreative August 21, 2011 at 11:27 am #

        I just realized that you will need to start following me on twitter for me to send you a direct message…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,113 other followers

