Rotten Banana Fail

23 May

I love when bananas go rotten; it gives me an excuse to do some baking! I think my coworkers are also appreciative of when I have rotten bananas as this usually means they get homemade banana bread (or Brianna bread as some of them have started to call it).

This week instead of making banana bread I made banana muffins. My friend Courtney gave me silicon baking cups and I was excited to finally use them. I’ve never used silicon bakeware before. I also haven’t made banana muffins in a while. I’m not sure what happened but the muffins turned out to be a bit of a disaster. Maybe I needed to add more flour? Unfortunately these muffins are not nearly as impressive as my banana bread (my banana bread is good – I swear!). I’m actually a little embarrassed to post photos of them on my blog. But not embarrassed enough to not post about this baking failure! ;)

Sorry coworkers – I will probably not be bringing these into work tomorrow!

For some reason this recipe failed today. I’m sure it was me and not the recipe. I still encourage you to try it!

Banana Muffins by Company’s Coming
All purpose flour     1 ¾ cups
Baking soda              1 tsp
Salt                             ¼ tsp

Butter or margarine    ½ cup
Granulated sugar         1 ¼ cups
Eggs                                2
Sour cream                    ¼ cup
(If you don’t have sour cream you can substitute with milk or yogurt)
Mashed bananas          1 cup

I also like to add chocolate chips (preferably dark chocolate chips)

Put flour, soda, and salt in a large bowl. Stir. Make a well in center.

In another bowl cream butter, sugar, and one egg. Beat in second egg. Mix in sour cream and bananas. Pour into well and stir to mix. Ignore lumps. Fill greased cups ¾ full. Bake in 350 oven for 20 to 25 minutes. Yield: 16 muffins.

I think that maybe I should stick with banana bread.

4 Responses to “Rotten Banana Fail”

  1. Courtney May 23, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I’m glad to see the baking cups in use :)

    Maybe it’s something to do with the baking time — perhaps silicon bakeware requires some adjusting. Did they still taste okay?

    • thebbcreative May 23, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

      The muffins taste good. They just didn’t rise properly. I think that maybe there were too liquidy.

      I think that I made a mistake – it definitely wasn’t the baking cups. Thanks for the bday present. Next time I will have to try cupcakes! :)

  2. Jocelyn May 24, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    I made banana choco chip muffins this weekend too! I used this recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/chocolate-chip-banana-muffins-2/Detail.aspx and instead of 1/2 c oil I used 1/4 c oil and 1/4 milk. I LOVE using yogurt or sour cream in baking. I think it keeps them so moist! Sorry yours didn’t rise properly, but hooray for weekend baking!

  3. Lisa January 24, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    I’ve been using this recipe since I learned how to bake. it is a smash in my house! I always make a double batch and they’re usually gone within 48 hours :)

Leave a Reply

