A couple of weeks ago on a sunny Sunday afternoon in Vancouver the crafty ladies met up to plant some herbs. I’ve wanted to start my own kitchen window garden for years and was very excited for this little garden project. I was a bit nervous about growing my own herbs; the only plant that has lasted in my care for over a year is lucky bamboo. I bought some organic seeds from the queen of DIY, Martha Stewart. If Martha says I can do it, maybe I can.

Planting seeds with the crafty ladies was surprisingly easy. We sat in the sun, drank some iced tea, and enjoyed some dessert. Then the dirty work began: we put some dirt in a pot, added some seeds, covered the seeds with more dirt, watered and hoped something would grow.

Dirt, seeds, water, sunshine. Easy.

I was very pleasantly surprised when my plants started growing. Though I think I may have too many plants in my pots. Can any gardeners out there let me know if I should pull some of the plants out?

I can’t wait to use fresh herbs in my salads this summer. Gardening success!