Printmaking <3

30 Nov

I love printmaking – more than drawing and more than painting. I love the process of trying to create the perfect poster and the imperfections that are inevitably in each unique print. These imperfections can’t really be fixed, they just are. Imperfections give printmaking character; imperfections are beautiful.

My love for printmaking has been rekindled in the last couple of years; I’ve created several linocut prints and silkscreen posters. Here are some prints I made over the summer for friends.

I made these silkscreen posters for my friend Whitney as a housewarming present.

I made the below linocut prints for my friend Karey, who owns a cute little clothing boutique in Regina, Saskatchewan called Stella and Sway. I really love how these prints turned out. The inspiration for these prints came from vintage Vogue sewing patterns I found on Flickr.

If you are ever in Regina, make sure you pay Karey a visit!

4 Responses to “Printmaking <3”

  1. Gala Milne November 30, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  2. Karey December 16, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    I too love the vintage vogue inspired prints…perfect for my boutique! Thanks for the shout out girl! LOVE the blog…it looks great and is now on my weekly blog reading list so keep them posts coming ;-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lino Cutting « - March 27, 2011

    […] crafty ladies made the pink, blue, and yellow cards. The print of the dresses was made for a good friend who owns a cute little boutique in Regina, Saskatchewan called Stella and Sway. The sparrow is a […]

  2. My Mood Board « - October 22, 2011

    […] inspired linocut prints I made for a […]

Leave a Reply

