Christmas Felting

24 Nov

Felt is such a great medium. I love working with felt. It is so versatile and easy to work with. I particularly like using felt for Christmas projects. Felt and Christmas is such a great combination. The perfect pre-Christmas crafternoon would include felt, hot-chocolate with baileys, friends, and a warm Christmas fire.

My first experience using felt was probably over a decade ago making Christmas stockings in my 4H craft group. My mom grew up on a ranch and was very involved with 4H as a child and won rodeo queen awards as a teen. Once my brother and I were old enough to participate in clubs my mom enrolled us in 4H. We didn’t grow up on a farm so we joined groups like Pets, Crafts, and Carpentry. At the time these groups weren’t nearly as exciting as Beef or Light Horse, but we still had fun and made some great projects. My family was involved in 4H for 10 years, which I think is a pretty impressive commitment.

Anyways, back to the topic of this post, felt. My mom was our 4H Craft leader and found the pattern for our Christmas stockings in one of her sewing magazines. I don’t know what magazine she found the pattern so I no longer have directions for these stockings. But I do remember that we used a blanket stitch to attach the felt together. I also remember what crafting supplies we used.

Supplies: 2 meters of white felt for the base of the stocking, more felt in a variety of colours depending on your design, embroidery thread, needle(s), scissors, paper and pencil to plan out your pattern, sequence, and a ribbon for hanging. A glue gun and pins can also be helpful but are not necessary.

More recently I made a beautiful felt wreath with my Crafty Ladies group. I found the instructions for Kristen’s Ruffly Felt Wreath on Design Sponge. This wreath looks gorgeous and is incredibly easy to make (but time consuming). As all the walls in my rental suite are white I choose some festive red felt. I love how bright and merry my wreath looks. It’s a great alternative to a red bow that you sometimes see on doors at Christmas.

Supplies: 12 inch styrofoam wreath form, 2 meters of felt, 100+ straight pins, scissors, paper and pencil for template, and a ribbon for hanging.

Happy felting!

5 Responses to “Christmas Felting”

  1. Courtney December 1, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Your wreath looks fantastic!

  2. Sharon December 2, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    Love your felting creativity. They look awsome.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Phoebe Bag by my Mom « - January 3, 2011

    […] the house look pretty. She is also crafty, as I mentioned in a previous post, she used to lead our 4-H Craft group. In 2010 she started to dabble in photography and joined a photo club. She is a busy lady who […]

  2. Crafty Ladies do Christmas « - February 26, 2011

    […] celebrate the holidays this year the Crafty Ladies coordinated a cookie swap. Everyone brought two or three dozen cookies to swap. All the cookies […]

  3. Favourite Felt Wreath « - November 25, 2012

    […] My wreath was beautiful; it looked exactly like Kristen’s wreath (which is always satisfying when following an online tutorial). I was so pleased with this DIY project. Unfortunately this wreath was very fragile and I knew it wouldn’t travel well when I moved to Saskatoon. I gave my felt rosette wreath to my dear friend Jocelyn. I hope she enjoys it this holiday season! […]

Leave a Reply

