What’s In My Bag – Africa

9 Jun

My vaccinations are up to date, my passport is current, and my bag is almost packed. I’m feeling invincible and ready to immerse myself in the culture of the Masai Mara on a Me to We volunteer adventure.

I will be building schools, hauling water, planting trees, and meeting incredible people in Kenya, Africa. My heart is so full and pounds with excitement every time I daydream about this world wind adventure. Africa has always been a place near to my heart. In high school I organized many 30 Hour Famines, hoping to make a positive impact on the lives of youth in Africa. I never imagined I would have the opportunity to fly around the world to learn from these resilient people in person.

I am so excited to see what the beauty of Africa has in store for me.

Start Packing – Me to We Trips

While in Africa I will be spending most of my time in a rural area of the Masai Mara. We are encouraged to pack as lightly as possible. Many bloggers like to share “what’s in my bag?” (Snunk BoyA Beautiful MessJustina BlakeneyBycelina). Packing for Kenya is much more interesting and challenging than packing for everyday life. The below photo includes everything I’m taking to Africa except shoes, undergarments, pyjamas, and jackets. The most luxurious item I am bringing is my Tarte mascara!

In my Pack - Africa_LRThe most interesting items I am bringing are medicinal: Ultrathon insect repellent, grapefruit seed extract, Homeocan jet lag, and melatonin. The most important item I am bringing is my camera. And I guess things I need to enter and survive Africa: my passport, Malaria pills, and record of immunizations.

643256_origIt is hard to believe I will soon be in Kenya, volunteering with Free The Children and Me to We. I cannot wait to feel the heartbeat of Africa!

6 Responses to “What’s In My Bag – Africa”

  1. Courtney June 9, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    Best wishes for your trip! Soak it all up :) Can’t wait to hear how it all goes!

  2. storiesfrmiraq.wordpress.com June 9, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    This is so cool, thank you very much. I am looking forward for your updates

  3. Jean Alaba June 9, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    What a wonderful and meaningful journey you will soon be embarking on.

    I wish you all the best and looking forward to your adventures in Kenya. Cheers

  4. Sharon June 17, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    A trip and adventure of a life time. Take lots of pictures, take a diary to wite about every day.

    All the best.

    Love

    Mom

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thinking About Africa | - June 23, 2013

    […] I return there will be a canvas waiting to capture of glimmer of what I experienced with Free The Children and Me to We. It will be a difficult artistic project, but I’m up for the […]

  2. My Free The Children Adventure: Experiencing Community in the Maasai Mara | - September 14, 2013

    […] Kenya if I was hired. I received an offer letter from KPMG in late December and 18 months later I found myself volunteering in the beautiful Maasai Mara with Free The Children and KPMG team members from across […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,113 other followers

