DIY Découpage Television Tables

17 Sep

I’ve been living with Henry (my apartment) for about seven months. This charming little apartment is finally starting to feel like home.

I haven’t purchased any sort of side or coffee table since I’ve moved in with Henry. Side tables were a luxury item that I didn’t think were necessary. After placing two wine glasses on the floor, accidentally kicking them over, and shattering them into tiny pieces, I realized side tables do, in fact, serve an important purpose.

I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on side tables and went searching online. I bought these simple, wooden, television tables off of kijiji. I paid $20 for these tv tables with a découpage, DIY makeover in mind.

Découpage makeover supplies: tv trays, art print or patterned paper, mod podge (I used Golden Acrylic Medium instead of mod podge), a paint brush, a pencil, a ruler, and scissors.

Découpaging is really easy. Step one: clean your soon-to-be-découpaged item. Step two: experiment with different papers and patterns. You can cut paper into tiny pieces to make a fun pattern. Overlap your paper for a collage look. Use a favourite poster to cover the surface of your DIY item. You don’t have to limit yourself to paper; you can use fabric, lace, doilies, stickers - any crafting odds and ends you have in your “I’ll use this someday for an awesome craft” supply box.

Step three: (my favourite part) get messy! My hands were covered in glue. Twenty-four hours after this craft project I was still peeling dried glue off of my hands.

Once you have made a creative decision cut paper for your furniture makeover. Cover the surface of the furniture item with the glue using a paint brush. The glue should be wet when the paper is positioned on the surface. Apply more glue or an acrylic polyurethane over the finished product. Ta-da! A little messy, but super easy, DIY project. Your friends will definitely compliment you on your fabulous, découpaged furniture (hint, friends please compliment me on my side tables when you visit).

All three television trays turned out nicely. I don’t love the baby blue and red television trays (above). I wish I picked different paper. But they are still cute and functional.

This blue checkered table is my favourite. I like the classic pattern and contrast of the periwinkle blue and pale wood on the table’s surface.

This is my favourite space in my apartment. It’s so sweet and cozy. Having a side table is a nice addition to this sunny nook. No more broken wine glasses or spilled tea for me! Hooray!

Happy crafting. XO.

6 Responses to “DIY Découpage Television Tables”

  1. Jocelyn Wagner September 22, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    What a simple way to take your new side tables to the next level of sweetness! I’d like to do a mosaic table using broken off cuts from a tile store. Have you seen that done before?

  2. Whitney September 25, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    They turned out great!

  3. Mom September 26, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Aw, you are doing some of your childhood crafts. They look great.

    Mom

  4. http://www.cochrane.es/ August 30, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info particularly the remaining part :
    ) I deal with such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

    • thebbcreative September 2, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      Thanks for the compliment! I’m not posting as often these days – but am thrilled you find the information I share useful.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogoversary – The BB Creative Turns Two! « - November 20, 2012

    [...] I rediscovered the art of découpage and made some fancy tv trays. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

