Thoughts on Murals and Such

9 Sep

Murals are fascinating.

Montreal Mural: somewhere near the waterfront

I love the culture behind street murals and graffiti. Murals belong to the do it yourself creatives; there are no rules, no galleries, no elitism, no curating authority. Murals are accessible. They are for the people. They make ordinary and dull public spaces interesting, challenging, and often, beautiful. They can help us reevaluate the way we use and see urban spaces.

Murals and graffiti also challenge the controversial question: Is this art?

NYC Mural: somewhere in SoHo

NYC Mural: near the New Museum of Art

NYC Mural: near The Highline

Since my urban vacation I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about the arts. I sit and daydream about artists, musicians, actors, stage designers, dancers, photographers. These people are so intriguing. They dedicate their lives to a cause, to learning, to refining their practice. This requires so much thought and patience. There is so much uncertainty to dedicating your life to the arts.

Montreal Mural: near Saint-Louis Square

Montreal Mural: near Old Montreal

There was a time in my life that I wanted to dedicate my life to the world of art. I wanted to be a painter, to design theatre sets, to become a professional stage manager.

In Montreal I met up with a friend from high school. He is an incredibly talented pianist. He studied piano during his undergrad and masters. I imagine he will continue his studies and complete his doctorate. Whenever I see him he asks about my artwork, which is sweet, but also embarrassing. He is a professional pianist and I barely pursue the arts in my free time. I never really know how to respond.

I enjoyed university and am happy with my chosen profession (communications). I enjoy, and am good at, coordinating communications, marketing, and events. I don’t know if I could have survived a career in the arts. I enjoy routine. I enjoy my expansive shoe collection. I would make a terrible starving artist.

When I told my friend I am a communications coordinator I was met with a blank stare. I sighed. It is hard to describe what I do. I explained to him I am a stage manager for business people. He nodded and smiled. Apparently this is a good job description (at least for people who know what stage management is).

NYC Installation (not a mural but still very cool public art!): The High Line Zoo

People in suits have replaced actors in sweatpants. Maybe my career isn’t as far from my high school aspirations as I once thought.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,117 other followers

