My First NYC Musical

26 Aug

To see a Broadway Musical in New York has been a dream of mine since high school. Growing up in a small, farming community the big metropolis of New York City felt very far away. My worldview was small. I never knew if I would make it to New York.

In high school I was a total drama nerd. We had an amazing high school theatre program. I was involved in five shows; acting in grade nine and taking on the role of stage manager for the remainder of my high school theatre career. Being a stage manager consumed my life; I attended all rehearsals at noon, after school, and on Sundays. Being a part of these musicals was a special experience. I worked with so many talented students, teachers, and parents. We put on spectacular shows. We received standing ovations every night. Not because our parents were proud of us, but because our shows were great. I can confidently say my high school’s drama club was better than your high school’s drama club.

I know this to be true because we were the first high school in North America to receive the rights to perform Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. What an amazing feat for a high school in rural Saskatchewan!

I loved being a stage manager. It was a great learning experience. It was an introduction to a world I never knew existed. So much hard work, creativity, talent, and time went into our shows. The evening of the final performance was always bittersweet. I never wanted the show to end.

To see The Lion King in New York with my best friend was the most overwhelming and memorable experience from my epic summer vacation. It was an incredible show. It was everything I imagined a Broadway Musical would be. This musical brought the cartoon to life in such a beautiful and elegant way. It was stunning.

My heart was filled with happiness after seeing The Lion King. I am very fortunate to be in a position where I can have these experiences and make my high school dreams a reality.

5 Responses to “My First NYC Musical”

  1. Mom August 26, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    You are so fortunate to see such a amazing show. Brings back childhood memories of reading the book and watching the movie with you. Would be a great show to see someday. Hint Hint

  2. Rachel Anastasia August 26, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    My high school had a great theatre program too. I was in some shows, did some assistant stage managing as well. The drama teacher got a neck injury in my 12th year and cancelled the big show and I was sooo bummed. Really exciting you got to see the Lion King!

    • thebbcreative August 29, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

      That would be so heartbreaking to not have a big production your last year of high school! That’s so sad! You should go see The Lion King if you ever have the opportunity!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thoughts on Murals and Such « - September 9, 2012

    […] There was a time in my life that I wanted to dedicate my life to the world of art. I wanted to be a painter, to design theatre sets, to become a professional stage manager. […]

  2. Blogoversary – The BB Creative Turns Two! « - November 20, 2012

    […] had an epic summer vacation in Montreal and NYC with my […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

