Coral Sunset: Rediscovering I can still paint

8 Jul

I have been thinking about painting a canvas since February when I first met my handsom Henry. I’ve been mindlessly browsing blogs and pinterest for inspiration. There has been a lot of “creative research” but not much action. I needed a deadline; I included starting and finishing a painting on my summer to-do list.

I bought myself a canvas and some paints a couple of weeks ago. This Friday evening I had no plans and spontaneously opened a bottle of chardonnay, put on my Osheaga playlist, prepared my canvas, and pulled out my paints. I didn’t have an end product in mind; I just started slapping painting onto the canvas (literally). I haven’t painted a canvas since high school. It felt sooo good to paint with no agenda. I thought that I would be frustrated with the process but it was actually quite liberating. Yes – I can still do this!

My brush wasn’t doing an adequate job and I ended up using my hands and fingers to move the paint around the canvas. I made a gigantic mess and it was awesome.

I will admit; this painting is a little generic. You can probably buy something similar at Ikea or Winners. But I love the bright, vibrant, sunset colours, I love the geometric shapes, and I love the fact that I made it.

There is no critical theory or feminist message hidden within the layers of paint and nail polish. This painting is a combination of Henry’s empty walls, tasty chardonnay, Florence + The Machine, Feist, MGMT, and a girl trying to rediscover her inner artist.

P.S. – Coral Sunset is also the name of these gorgeous peonies. How perfect and girlie!?

3 Responses to “Coral Sunset: Rediscovering I can still paint”

  1. Mom July 10, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Doing things on a whim is great. Cool picture.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coral Crush « - July 15, 2012

    [...] I want to fill my apartment and wardrobe with coral coloured accessories to compliment my new coral coloured painting. [...]

  2. Blogoversary – The BB Creative Turns Two! « - November 20, 2012

    [...] painted a canvas for the first time in [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

