Canada’s Wild West – Moving from BC to SK

19 Feb

Last week I introduced you to handsome Henry, my new apartment. What I failed to mention is that Henry is located in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, not Vancouver, British Columbia.

After living in the metropolis of Vancouver for nearly seven years I decided to move back to sunny Saskatchewan, my home province. This was a huge decision. A decision that took me over four months to commit to. I created a great life for myself in Vancouver and made some incredible friends. Vancouver is where I grew up; it is where I studied university, started my career, discovered the DIY/handmade culture that I love, and ultimately found what it is in life that makes me happy. But Saskatchewan was calling me home and I couldn’t resist its big skies and big opportunities. Now I’m living in Canada’s sunniest city and it is great. Bring on the sunshine!

My wonderful parents drove to Vancouver to help me move. Driving from Vancouver to Saskatoon is a pretty epic trip, especially in the middle of winter. We drove through the mountains, badlands, and prairies. Driving through the mountains was challenging. I haven’t seen that much snow since I was a child. The snow and the mountains were gorgeous. Canada amazes me; I always forget how breathtaking and diverse the landscape is.

Here are some photos we took during the big move.

Thank goodness all of my belongings fit in my parents truck!

A quick lunch and some sightseeing with my parents in Banff, Alberta.

I’m starting the next exciting chapter of my life in Saskatoon. I feel a bit like I’m starting over. I’m not from Saskatoon and don’t know many people here. I do think that this is the best move for me and that I will love it here. Saskatoon is a happening city!

Image by Adam Hayes found on designworklife.

Looking forward to sharing more about life in the City of Bridges with you!

6 Responses to “Canada’s Wild West – Moving from BC to SK”

  1. Amanda February 19, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I am still agonizingly curious as to what has drawn you back to Saskatchewan! I couldn’t imagine leaving the life I’ve built to start anew where it’s… so small! Was finding a job easy enough? Was there a huge salary sacrifice between the two cities? It’s so nice that your parents drove to help you! Love the pictures – what were you shooting with?

    • thebbcreative February 19, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      Better job, better salary, better apartment, more sunshine. Lots of reasons to move. I can send you a more detailed email later. Also – the photos are from my mom. I’m not sure what type of camera she has. I’m not very knowledgeable when it comes to photography.

  2. shiraevents February 19, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    Great post!! Don’t forget to change your “About Brianna”, it still says you live in Vancouver ;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poetry Sunday « - February 26, 2012

    [...] recently moved to Saskatoon and am enjoying exploring what this new-to-me city has to offer. Shortly after moving here a friend [...]

  2. Opinion – Blik Wall Decals « - March 11, 2012

    [...] recently moved from Vancouver to Saskatchewan. During this move I bought a new computer desk. I love my new desk [...]

  3. Favourite Felt Wreath « - November 25, 2012

    [...] wreath was very fragile and I knew it wouldn’t travel well when I moved to Saskatoon. I gave my felt rosette wreath to my dear friend Jocelyn. I hope she enjoys it this holiday [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,114 other followers

