Stitched + Printed Christmas Cards

18 Dec

One of my favourite things about the holiday season is giving and receiving cards. I love getting Christmas cards and knowing that someone out there is thinking about me. Cards are such a simple gesture to show friends, family, and colleagues that you value their friendship, encouragement, and support.

That being said I am incredibly behind on my holiday cards. It is December 18 and I have not given away one Christmas card. I am sorry that many of you are viewing your Christmas card online before I give it to you in person.

This year I made two different Christmas cards – hand stitched cards and lino cut/printed cards. I am incredibly pleased with how all my cards turned out. I hope the recipients enjoy them as well!

I found a tutorial for DIY hand stitched cards from Leigh-Ann on Freckled Nest. Leigh-Ann’s instructions are really easy to follow and her blog is beautiful. I love the versatility of hand stitched cards, you can create these cards for any occasion. Your creativity and imagination is the only limit!

I found some fantastic fonts online (Honey Script, English Essay, and Morado) to help me with the type for my quirky, hand stitched, holiday cards.

The idea for “Merry Me” came from a coworker who created a poem with my Magnetic Poetry Little Box of Cheer word magnets. This magnet set only contains cheerful words, which made it quiet challenging to write an interesting poem! One of the verses from this very happy poem is “Merry Me” and I thought these words would make a really charming holiday card! Do you agree?

Joyeux is a beautiful word. These cards are inspired by my Québécois heritage. Joyeux Noël!

“DFF” and “Slutty Work Pants” are cards for friends, both are inside jokes and I cannot adequately explain their hilarity in this blog post. I am sure they will both be greatly appreciated – let the inside jokes continue into the New Year!

“Cool Beans” was inspired by the movie Hot Rod and is for my brother (who does not read my blog so his card will be a surprise). If you haven’t seen the movie you should definitely check out this clip. Whenever I watch Hot Rod it makes me think of my little brother and smile.

I love lino printing. I love the process: finding an image, modifying it for the linoleum sheet, cutting the lino, choosing the image colour, rolling the ink on the stamp, printing the first image and praying it turns out the way I envisioned. It’s exciting because you never know exactly how the print will turn out! Each card has small imperfections that make it unique. No two cards are the same.

My lino cut cards are dedicated to my childhood memories of horse-drawn sleigh rides at Christmas. When I was really young my grandpa would harness up the horses, cover them with jingle bells, and take us for a sleigh ride (or wagon ride). It was such a magical experience.

When searching for images of sleighs I came across The Bells, a beautiful poem by Edgar Allan Poe. I love how Poe describes the sound of the silver bells and the crisp, starry night skies. For me The Bells invokes romantic and quintessential Canadian images of Christmas nights on the prairies.

The Bells by Edgar Allan Poe

Hear the sledges with the bells -
Silver bells!
What a world of merriment their melody foretells!
How they tinkle, tinkle, tinkle,
In the icy air of night!
While the stars that oversprinkle
All the heavens seem to twinkle
With a crystalline delight;
Keeping time, time, time,
In a sort of Runic rhyme,
To the tintinnabulation that so musically wells
From the bells, bells, bells, bells,
Bells, bells, bells -
From the jingling and the tinkling of the bells

A wagon ride with my grandpa during a very brown Saskatchewan Christmas.

Happy Holidays + Merry Christmas.

Here’s to many more laughs, crafts, dreams, and successes in 2012!

2 Responses to “Stitched + Printed Christmas Cards”

  1. Courtney December 18, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Brianna, these are awesome! They look like a lot of work! Well done!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Merry + Bright Christmas Cards « - December 24, 2012

    [...] Last year I made embroidered and printed cards for family and friends. This year I kept things simple and made one lovely linocut stamp “Merry + Bright”. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,113 other followers

