Wedding Stationary & Design

9 Jul

Vanessa’s vintage inspired, farmyard wedding has been a big focus of The BB Creative since January when the lovely bride-to-be asked me to be her maid of honour. Now the wedding is over and I’m full of bittersweet feelings. I had the time of my life back at home helping Vanessa and her family decorate and prepare for the wedding. Wedding preparations and celebrations felt like a non-stop, five day party. I had the time of my life, but was also exhausted (and unfortunately sick) after it was all over. Helping Vanessa with wedding preparations and celebrations has definitely been the highlight of 2011 so far.  I truly feel honoured to have played such a big role in this momentous occasion.

After five days of running on pure adrenalin it is hard to fall back into my weekly routine of work and exercise. Although I am enjoying my projects at work and thoroughly enjoy my swim and dance classes they are not as exciting as celebrating true love (btw – congratulations Vanessa and Jason!). I am searching for a new project or adventure to start focusing my energies on. Any suggestions?

Since Vanessa’s wedding was a huge highlight for me, I would like to share some of the projects I worked on to make this event extra special.

I offered my design expertise to help Vanessa with her invitations, ceremony programs, reception programs, chair decorations, favour labels, and posters. I took an InDesign class in university and have been itching for a big design project to work on ever since. I am thrilled with how all my design projects turned out and hope Vanessa (and her mom) are as happy with the design as I am!

I kept the programs simple. I found a fantastic font called Romance Fatal Serif. I love this font and it influenced a lot of the design choices I made. I love ligatures and this font has a lot of great ligatures that were fun to play with. My secondary font is called Effloresce and it was perfect for all the copy in the body of the programs.

I have done several posts on the linocut stamps I made for the invitations, I love they way they turned out and couldn’t resist posting one last photo!

These honey jar favours inspired the theme of the wedding “Love is Sweet”. Inspiration for the honey jars came from Martha Stewart. I found the circle label design on Ruffled (yay for Freebie Fridays).

I loved Vanessa’s idea for the chair decorations, which doubled as seating cards. The chair decorations were very simple, effective, and had a nice impact on the room.

Thanks for letting me play such a big role in your wedding Vanessa! Love you! <3

Stay tuned for another post on the decorations for the wedding ceremony and reception!

Previous Wedding Design Posts:

 

4 Responses to “Wedding Stationary & Design”

  1. Courtney July 14, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    The chair decorations and honey jars are just lovely!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eclectic & Lovely DIY Wedding Projects « - July 10, 2011

    [...] Wedding Stationary & Design: some of the design work I did for the wedding [...]

  2. Nicole Gerhardt Photography « - August 3, 2011

    [...] Wedding Stationary & Design: some of the design and stationary work I did for the wedding [...]

  3. Happy Wedding Anniversary! « - July 8, 2012

    [...] and Jason’s magical day: Nicole Gerhardt Photography. Eclectic & Lovely DIY Wedding Projects. Wedding Stationary & Design. Birds, Spring, Love. The Invites are Here! Primary Colours (Vanessa’s wedding colours). Lino [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,113 other followers

