Friendship Bracelet Crafternoon

26 Feb

Remember friendship bracelets? I loved making friendship bracelets as a tween. Friendship bracelets are simple, beautiful, and can make wishes come true. The lucky recipient of a friendship bracelet is granted one wish. After you receive a friendship bracelet, make a wish, wear the bracelet until the threads break – and your wish will come true! Friendship bracelets are a very simple and whimsical way to wish the stress out of life.

This afternoon crafty ladies got together to drink creamy earl grey tea (my favourite), catch up on life, and make friendship bracelets. I couldn’t think of a better way to spend a cold and snowy afternoon.

I pulled out my stash of embroidery thread, some safety pins, and Friendship Bracelets by Camilla Gryski. Friendship Bracelets was published in 1993, but is still a fantastic book with easy to follow tutorials. I am very please that I kept this book over the years; it really would be a shame if I gave it away.

I am quite happy with my bracelet. I am excited to make more bracelets and try out some different patterns! Unfortunately as a twentysomething it is no longer fashionable to wear a thread bracelet until it is all ragged and about to fall off. I will have to find a more practical way to make my wishes come true!

Keeping crafting and dreaming ladies! <3

6 Responses to “Friendship Bracelet Crafternoon”

  1. Courtney February 26, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Lovely bracelet! I had a lot of fun today! You could tie or pin it to a purse?

    • thebbcreative February 26, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks Courtney! Happy belated Birthday! <3
      Adding it to a purse is a good idea.

  2. Renee Leduc February 27, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    oh friendship bracelets…i LOVED making these things in Elementary school!!!!

    • thebbcreative February 28, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      You should totally get some thread and make some Renee! I think that I’m going to make a couple more in my free time. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crafty Ladies Planternoon « - May 15, 2011

    [...] May A couple of weeks ago on a sunny Sunday afternoon in Vancouver the crafty ladies met up to plant some herbs. I’ve wanted to start my own kitchen window garden for years and was [...]

  2. Obsessed: Embroidery Thread + Friendship Bracelets « - June 24, 2012

    [...] pinterest and etsy. I love friendship bracelets. Friendship bracelets were the topic of one of my first blog posts and I am so pleased this bright trend has been building over the last two years. These colourful [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,117 other followers

