Needle Tatting

23 Jan

As I mentioned in a previous post my friend Courtney and I have decided to make it a tradition to give each other handmade Christmas presents each year. But there is a catch, we have to make a craft or use a technique that we’ve never used before. Last year I made Courtney some lovely resin magnets. This year I experimented with the very frustrating art of needle tatting.

I am very happy with the end result, three flower pendants that I put on a chain to make a unique necklace, but this is probably the most frustrating craft project I’ve attempted. I found the tutorial for this needle tatting project on instructables.com, but the instructions weren’t very easy to follow. I had to watch the YouTube video about 10 times before I was happy with the flower pendants I was making. The YouTube video is excellent and very easy to follow. I just find needle tatting frustrating.

Courtney and I had a very belated gift exchange, we just exchanged presents last night. Happy Christmas/New Year Courtney! Despite my frustration I am very pleased with how this necklace turned out and hope you get lots of compliments on it!

4 Responses to “Needle Tatting”

  1. Courtney January 24, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Love it! Thanks!

  2. jannel james October 27, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Do you leave any space of thread between where it is threaded through the eye of the needle and the beginning of the double stitches on the needle? Is the thread taut? How long should the tail of thread be after you thread the needle? Thank you. Jannel. Please email me if you can.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Needle Tatting « -- Topsy.com - January 24, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by tinaferan, InTatters . InTatters said: RT @tinaferan: Look at what my talented friend did http://thebbcreative.wordpress.com/2011/01/23/needle-tatting/ #craft #crafty […]

  2. Handmade by Courtney « - January 29, 2011

    […] has made me some fabulous gifts over the years. As I mentioned previously we always exchange handmade Christmas presents.  I posted about the crafty gifts I have made for her and would like to showcase what she has made […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

